Re-run Sunday (a short explanation)

Photo by Eileen Pan on Unsplash

I hope you enjoyed the ‘re-runs’ of Frankie & Benny that ended last Sunday and culminated in the new episode ‘Dunking’ on Friday.  I will be back to these old chums, of that there is no doubt because, as I have mentioned before, I feel that they are the epitome of everything that this blog is about – and also because I really like their company. 

I have had, through the years, a small number of other ‘running stories’ in the Little Fiction thread all of which I revisit from time to time when the muse drops in on me.

The first episode of such a thread was published back in September 2019 and featured a short conversation with a then un-named bearded man.  It appeared as ‘A Little Fiction – New Book (Title Unknown) – Introduction’ because that is exactly what it was: something I was fiddling around with in my head and on paper, which I hoped might one day become a book, just as soon as I had managed to entwine his story with something that had a little bit more in the way of narrative thrust.  Episodes two and three were written in the same way and it wasn’t until I approached episode four that I realised the elaborate and twisted plot I had manufactured did not actually suit my bearded man at all and I decided to let him simply appear on these pages – unencumbered by extraneous plot – each time a story fell into my head.  As I have now decided to run each of his stories, in order, on a Sunday in much the same way as I did for Frankie & Benny, I have re-titled them all in a similar format to make better sense.

A new episode will drop on Friday before the re-runs begin on Sunday and I will, once again, post another new episode at the end of that run.  (It is actually already written and, I am ashamed to admit, is probably my favourite – although I will almost certainly disagree with myself by the time we get to it.)

I think that, in the future, Dinah and Shaw, The Meaning of Life crew and perhaps a few random Little Fictions are likely to get a similar treatment; maybe even, if nobody has shot me before then, the Writer’s Circle.  Sunday isn’t a ‘standard’ posting day for me – so I feel content they won’t interfere with the normal ooze of life that fills my weekly meanderings – and re-reading these stories always makes me wonder what should come next and gives me the impetus to write new stories for familiar characters.  I hope you can forgive me…

5 thoughts on “Re-run Sunday (a short explanation)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.