Perfect

I have no idea what put this photo at the top of the page – I blame AI.

I decided that I should compose a list of all the things I would most like to be.  In the process, I had to consider all of the things I would most like not to be, and this person turned out to be a whole lot easier to define…

I do not want to be the person:

  • …who walks into a newly decorated room and says, “You’ve missed a bit.”  These are the people who spot the single mis-placed comma in a ten thousand word document; who notice that the left channel of your stereo is playing through the right speaker; who write to Points of View*.  These are the people who cannot see the magnificent forest for the single less than splendid elder.  Who cannot forgive imperfection in anything or anyone (else).
  • …who has “forgotten more than you will ever know.”  What is the point in that?  Knowledge is a great thing, but not when you’ve forgotten it.
  • …whose phone always does something yours does not.  Who says “Give it here, I’ll show you.  I can’t believe you don’t know how to do it,” and then does it without showing you.  Who smirks while they’re doing it…
  • …who always knows best.  Who is not prepared to even listen to your point of view because, obviously, it can’t be right as it doesn’t concur with their own.
  • …who always knows a quicker way than the SatNav.  If there is no SatNav, they will wait until you are completely lost before saying, “Well, I wouldn’t have gone that way in the first place.”  Who has a car and a driving licence, but never drives.
  • …who does exactly what he is told when the party host says, “Make yourself at home.”
  • …who orders the most expensive thing on the menu simply because somebody else is paying.  “Well, I was thinking about a fish finger sandwich, but I suppose I could squeeze in a little Chateau Briand.  I’ll share your wine – you can buy a second bottle if we need it.  Pudding?  Oh, it would be rude not to…”
  • …who always takes the kerbside seat on the bus.
  • …who has been everywhere you really want to go – and didn’t like it.
  • …who has met all of your heroes – and didn’t like them.
  • …who never admits to knowing anything in case it means having to do something.  “Sorry, it’s been so long… one forgets so quickly… I think you might need someone with a stronger wrist.”
  • …who always sits in front of me at the theatre.  He is very tall and the back of his neck is ugly.
  • …who always makes an entrance.
  • …who has a smile on his lips, but a cash register in his eyes.
  • …who never sings duets.
  • …who never sings at all unless he is certain somebody is listening.
  • …who has to be the judge.
  • …who has to be perfect…

Don’t forget to win first place
Don’t forget to keep that smile on your face… Perfect – Alanis Morrisette (Morrisette/Ballard)

*A UK TV programme to which people write in order to complain about TV programmes.

9 thoughts on “Perfect

  1. Will you still want to be friends after I admit I’m a little of the first? But only at my own house, never anyone else’s. I’m constantly straightening paintings and pillows and picking up after my messy husband. It’s not that I’m finding fault, I just like it neat.
    😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think I know a bunch of those in my family…truly perfect masterpieces of nature who lack neither wit nor sarcasm and always have ready negative opinion…I try to not engage them and never show my new dress unless I am looking to send it back to the shop anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.