Frankie & Benny #9 – Vaccinations

“…You’d think they’d have coffee, wouldn’t you?  Perhaps a custard cream or something.  We’ve been here ages”
“Well, I don’t suppose they want to be encouraging folk to linger do they?  I think ideally they want us in and out.”
“Really?  Well how long have we been waiting here now my friend?”
“Just under forty minutes I think, but we did arrive almost an hour early.”
“Yes, well that wasn’t entirely our own fault was it?”
“Well no.  I suppose we could quite legitimately blame the landlord for chucking us out of the pub so early.  I’ve no idea why he should need to go upstairs to cook himself a meal anyway when he’s got a cabinet full of meat pies on the bar.”
“True, although if he’d eaten one of those he would probably have had to see the doctor before us.  Some of those pies have been in there so long you can tell how old they are by cutting them in half and counting the rings.”
“Then you can’t really blame him for not wanting to eat them, can you.”
“I can blame him for charging me two quid every time I have one.”
“To be honest, I bet it costs him more than that to keep the bloody things warm for weeks on end.  Besides, he only keeps them for you Frankie, nobody else touches them… unless they want to build a rockery perhaps.”
“Well at least they’re hot Benny, not like the shitey pasties you eat.”
“He microwaves the pasties.  Nothing survives a microwave, does it?  And I never eat the cold bits…”
“Well, he could have had one of those then, couldn’t he, and we could have stayed in the warm a bit longer.”
“To be fair, he can’t survive on just pies and pasties can he?  I mean, alright I know that we do, but he’s young and soft.  He likes his veg.”
We’re eating veggie tonight.”
“I thought we were having fish and chips.”
“Fish, chips and mushy peas.  How veggie do you want?”
“Good point.  And anyway, fish is veg as well, isn’t it really?  And bread and butter…”
“…Marge.  Bread and marge.  Margarine is made from veg.”
“To be honest, the stuff you buy is probably made from old sump oil.  Have you ever checked the ingredients?”
“In margarine?  No.  Have you?”
“Well no, Francis my friend, but I don’t buy my spread from the local coal merchant.”
“Don’t exaggerate Benny, he’s a mobile grocer…  He just sells coal as well.”
“Frankie, he’s a coal merchant with a van who sells anything he can get out of Derek’s ‘Only Slightly Out of Date’ bargain bin.”
“Well whatever, it’s proper margarine… and I can’t read Russian anyway.  What’s the time?”
“Have you lost your watch again?
“That depends on how you define ‘lost’.”
“Have you got it?”
“No.”
“Do you know where it is?”
“No.”
“That, old chum, is how I define ‘lost’.”
“Ok, let’s go for lost then.”
“It’s ten to.”
“When are our appointments?”
“Mine’s at five to and yours is at five past.”
“…I still think they should offer us coffee.”
“Look, we’ll just get this done, buy our fish suppers and you can come back to mine for a coffee, ok?”
“I think I’ll have tea.”
“I thought you wanted coffee.”
“Not your coffee.”
“What’s wrong with my coffee?”
“Have you tasted it?”
“No, I don’t drink coffee.  I stick to tea.”
“Ok, well where did you get it from?”
“I’ve no idea…  Actually, I think you gave it to me…  So, the coal merchant probably.”
“No, well, it’s probably for the best that they don’t serve coffee here if I’m honest.  I’m busting for a pee.”
“Why don’t you go here?”
“Here?  At the doctors?  Are you mad?”
“What do you mean?”
“Look around you, the place is full of sick people.  No, I’ll just sit here, thank you very much, and wait for my injections…  Which arm will they use?”
“I think we’re having flu and covid, so they’ll use both.”
“Really?  My arm was as stiff as buggery after my covid last year.  If they do both together I won’t even be able to scratch my own arse tomorrow.”
“Always a silver lining eh?”
“…Did you feel ill last time?”
“Not really.  Bit of a headache I think, but I took something for it.”
“What did you take?”
“A tumbler-full of cheap whisky, that did the trick.”
“Then, good doctor, I will follow your advice – indeed, if they are doing both arms, I shall have two tumblers-full.”
“Very wise, Francis, very wise…  So when we get these injections done we’ll eat our vegetarian suppers and drink our medicine whilst watching ‘Only Connect’ on the TV shall we?”
“Yes, although I’m not sure why we always watch that, we never know the answers?”
“Well no, but we like watching the presenter, don’t we?  We can turn the sound down if you like.”
“Yes, that would be better, wouldn’t it.”
“We’ll certainly feel less stupid.”
“I doubt that will work.  We are, old pal, exceedingly skilled at ignorance.”
“In modern parlance, I believe it is probably known to be our default position.”
“Like hiding behind the hat stand when the Jehovah’s Witnesses knock on the door?”
“Indeed.”
“Like when you put your collar up and pull your hat down whenever you see a poppy seller?”
I don’t do that… Do I do that?”
“Indeed you do, my friend.”
“Well, if they want us to buy a new one every year, they shouldn’t make them last so long, should they?  See, like this vaccination we’re having, they change them every year, don’t they.  Just enough to make us think that we’ve got to have the new one.”
“But the vaccination is free.”
“So are the poppies for some: I’ve seen what you put in the box.”
“It’s proper money, they’ll just need to get it changed.”
“I’m not sure they’re that desperate for a peseta.”
“They might be collectible these days, pesetas.”
“Well, it is possible I suppose, although the bus driver didn’t think so, did he?”
“I’m not certain that his language was entirely appropriate.”
“Ah well, at least we had plenty of time to walk, since the dipstick landlord chucked us out onto the street with over an hour to kill.”
“…And only a two peseta pie for sustenance…”
“You didn’t!”
“Rude not to Benny, rude not to…”

First published 20.10.23

2 thoughts on “Frankie & Benny #9 – Vaccinations

Comments are closed.