My Enemy

Photo by Fusion Medical Animation on Unsplash

Bloody Covid again.  Only (to my knowledge) the second time I have succumbed, but against all expectations (being fully vaccinated) far worse than the first time: the mildest of coughs, but a head pumped so full of mucus that it feels as though the top of my cranium might just detach from the rest of my skull with a ‘pop!’ like a champagne cork.  I realise that this annoying twenty-first century bully is not interested in those who can give it a fair fight, but preys on us oldies, especially when we are already down.  I was at the diminishing end of a persistent cold that had chipped away at my body for weeks: symptoms were slowly subsiding when ‘Pow!’ they returned in spades and, unusually, bowled me over.  I do not know whether my ‘cold’ was actually Covid all along, or whether it simply passed its fading symptoms on, but one way or another I seem to have spent some weeks falling to this point and, quite frankly, I’m fed up with it now and ready to fight back.  I am currently reviewing a complete list of bones and muscles in the hope of finding one that does not ache.

I’m not good at being ill – God knows I’m bad enough at being well – and I feel affronted.  I visualize disease as any other enemy and just as soon as I regroup my senses I will kick its shins.  My counter attack began with the peanut butter sandwich I had been craving all night and three bituminous cups of black coffee before a few hours in front of Saturday morning TV which, having worked Saturdays for much of my adult life, I have not seen in many years.  Sadly, it is not what it was: what has happened to Daktari?  Where are The Banana Splits?  Why can I no longer summon International Rescue?  Life is not the same when it is robbed of the Frank Bough/Dickie Davies conundrum: Grandstand or World of Sport?  Motorcross or all-in wrestling?

After some searching I did manage to locate an episode of Columbo.  Not that difficult I admit, but I’m not sure it’s an episode I’ve seen before – at least, not often.  What is noticeable is that the peerless 70’s detective is now punctuated by very twenty-first century adverts: fuss-free cremations, on-line bingo, over-fifties insurance policies (guaranteed acceptance, no medicals), stair-lifts, mobility scooters, incontinence pants, and motorized high-seat chairs.  It is clear that the Saturday Morning TV audience has changed.  It is no longer expected to grow into a Saturday evening audience, it is expected to fade and die with its funeral already paid for and its descent downstairs assured – as long as the electricity is not summarily disconnected.  Clarence the Cross-Eyed Lion is neither an acceptable source of entertainment, nor what the target audience now wants to see.

So two questions pop into my virus-fuzzy head 1) what does the current, obviously ageing Saturday morning viewer actually want to see and 2) where are the current teens; today’s equivalent of those who comprised the audience way back when?   Not out in the fresh air obvs.  I watch the news: I know that all young people are allergic to the outside world.  They are locked away in darkened rooms playing CoD with a world full of friends whom they have never met – nor ever will if they’ve got any sense.  Cyber friends and virtual enemies are the new early-teen staples – and not a single age-prejudiced bug nor a visually impaired lion in sight…

When you thought I was winning the game
You came and snuffed out the flame
You thought you finished me off
But you just made me strong
Each time you dealt me a blow
Each time you brought me so low
I found something inside to help me along…  My Enemy – Richard Thompson

22 thoughts on “My Enemy

  1. Flipin Nora! Daktari rings a bell, I have now also got I banana, 2 banana, 3 banana 4… more, la la la
    However, I thought we could summon International Rescue, right? Just they’re not the same.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well ,what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger! I see your appetite for TV got stronger 😀

    Apart from meds, take steam twice a day. It will bring down the headache.

    COVID is virus. Like vampire, it is already dead so meds can’t kill it. You can only wait for morning where sun’s rays to turn it to ash…

    Soak in the sun when you can (I know its winter but still) while drinking lime juice and coconut water. Well, it is all available in India and it is a great medicine for COVID but not sure if it is available or feasible in UK.

    Anyway, I’ll pray for you to beat the COVID soon. Go Colin, Go!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.